I Am Woman. . .I Am Christian. . .I Am Confused

Years before many of you were born, Helen Reddy made popular a song called “I Am Woman.” Not “I Am a Woman.” Just “I Am Woman.” As if the word “woman” had changed from a noun to an adjective.

I don’t think she was trying to set herself up as the ideal woman–maybe not even as a model woman. She wanted to celebrate modern woman’s new and improved place in society where they were not to be looked down, taken for granted, or treated unequally.

Hers was a bold statement. She proclaimed that she belonged to that new type of womanhood and was proud to be one of them. What characterized modern women characterized her.

Even the song’s tune and accompaniment had a victorious–but not overbearing–tone.

Donald Trump has announced his interest in the presidency of the United States.  While he hasn’t officially announced his candacy yet, he’s enjoying an unexpected–probably an inexplicable–amount of popularity because of the possibility of his running against Mr. Obama next year.

More than one person has expressed interest in–and skepticism about–a recent statement of Mr. Trump’s: “I am Christian.”

Not “I am a Christian.” Just “I am Christian.” But unlike “woman,” “Christian” is already both a noun and an adjective.

Mr. Trump really likes his religion–Christianity is right for him–and he never misses church on Christmas and Easter. When his schedule permits, he enjoys regular  Sunday worship as well.

Does he see that type of Christianity as typical? As desirable? As adequate? Does he see it as a relationship with God rather than a religion? And does he see Jesus as the only way to God?

Mr. Trump’s profession of Christianity leaves me confused. What’s he really saying?

Is he expressing the same kind of pride about being a Christian that Ms. Reddy proclaimed about being a modern woman?

Is he trying to make his spiritual leanings more obvious than Mr. Obama’s? A significant number of Americans believe Mr. Obama is a closet Muslim, and his spiritual leanings are certainly–dare I say this?–well hidden. Sometimes I have similar suspicions, but I don’t have the right to make that judgement.

Neither do I have the right to judge Mr. Trump’s Christianity. Jesus said that Christians are known by their fruit. By the love they show to both their friends and their enemies.

The National Day of Prayer is coming up in a few weeks. Last year, Mr. Obama failed to participate in it the way past presidents have done. Will he belly up to his supposed beliefs this year? And will Mr. Trump make an obvious attempt to be part of the Day of Prayer?

Gentlemen, I know where Helen Reddy stood, but you have me baffled. You can be sure I’ll be watching, though. Watching and listening. Will the Day of Prayer become a battle of the pray-ers? How I wish. . .if the pray-ers are both sincere.

On your knees. Ready. Set. Pray.

And I’ll be praying for both of you.

About Roger E. Bruner

Seventy-seven-year-old Roger E. Bruner is the author and publisher of twenty-two Christian novels and the writer of more than two hundred Christian songs and choruses, a handful of musical dramas, and a number of shorter works. He sings, plays guitar and bass, and records many of his original songs in his home studio. He is active in his church's nursing home ministry He also plays bass guitar on the church praise team. Married for twenty years to Kathleen, he has one grown daughter. Kathleen has two. young sons. Roger enjoys reading, walking, photography and book cover design (he's done all of his own except for Rosa No-Name), playing Snood and Solitaire, and complaining about the state of the nation while continuing to pray for it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment